Places to Visit
Springfield has many places that allow you to fully immerse yourself in nature, as well as an assortment of historical locations and museums. Check out these places below when planning your day out in Springfield.
The Springfield Art & Historical Society exists to promote an appreciation of Springfield’s history and historical art by identifying, collecting, preserving, and making available material that documents the story of the town’s people, industry, and culture.
Sat 1 pm - 4 pm
Located on Clinton Street (at the Toonerville Trailhead lot) on Saturdays 10 am - 2 pm, May through October
The Market features local produce, meats, cheese, and eggs FRESH from the farm
~ Local baked goods from a variety of amazing local bakers
~ Creative items sold by talented local artisans and crafters
~ Cooking tips and demos using market ingredients.
The Eureka Schoolhouse stands between Vermont Route 11 (to the south) and the Black River to the north, in the dispersed rural setting of Goulds Mill, southeast of the Springfield's main village center. It is a small single-story structure, built out of hand-hewn timbers and covered by a wooden shingle roof. Its walls are finished in rough-cut wooden boards, scored to resemble cut stone. A brick chimney rises from the rear right corner. The front facade, facing south toward the road, is three bays wide, with the entrance in the left bay, and large sash windows in the other two.
The school is believed to have been built in 1785, and is the oldest known schoolhouse in the state. It underwent a series of alterations over the 19th century, and was closed in 1900. It stood vacant and abandoned for many years, and was carefully disassembled by preservationists and stored in 1958. In 1968, it was reassembled to its original configuration (as best it could be determined from extant records) at the present site, which also includes the relocated Baltimore Covered Bridge.
The Fort at Number 4 was a mid-18th century stockade fortification protecting Plantation Number 4, the northernmost British settlement along the Connecticut River in the Province of New Hampshire until after the French and Indian War. It was located in the present-day town of Charlestown, New Hampshire.
The Stellafane Observatory is an astronomical observatory in Springfield, Vermont, founded in 1920 by Russell W. Porter. The Pink Clubhouse was built in 1923 at the site by the Springfield Telescope Makers Club.
James Hartness was the owner of the original Hartness estate and the source of its many eccentricities.
Most famously, Hartness commissioned a series of underground tunnels below our cozy mansion. These tunnels were conceived of as a massive private office for Hartness' work. They now provide underground access to the equatorial turret telescope that James Hartness designed and built into the front lawn. The tunnels also house the Hartness-Porter Museum of Amateur Telescope Making - and, rumor has it, the occasional ghost.
Book your stay at the Hartness properties today to experience this unique history for yourself.
The Hartness State Airport was initially built by James Hartness as part of his love of machines and flying. The airport grew over the years to have more hangers and landing strips.